High School Tour

Today our store hosted 16 high school students who are very interested in a career in the Design world. I was the person who showed them around the store trying to emphasize our approach to our showroom design. I showed them how we mix elements in our room settings to create a more beautiful and sometimes dramatic effect. I pointed out wood, metal, leather, sheepskin, cowhide and fabric to create a multi-dimensional effect. I talked about the Modern Classics and their influence on contemporary design in our stores. They seemed to be overwhelmingly drawn to Mid-Century modern frames in our room settings.

I enjoyed their well thought out questions and could tell they may have been at Ikea right before coming here. They wondered if our furniture was flat-packed and where they were manufactured. That opened the door for me to talk about our philosophy of collaboration with our vendors and our American made story. I really enjoy training new employees and doing this kind of tour because I have the opportunity to paint the best possible portrait pf who we are as a company. I love being an Ambassador for Room and Board.

