Life is Subject to Change

Sometimes expected dates of custom furniture change to later dates and we need to communicate the new date to the customer. I always let customers know this when placing a custom order. I will tell them when they can expect to have their furniture delivered, noting, that date, like everything in life – is subject to change. As I often use humor with customers I will say “So, no news from me is good news!” I then promise to call them if the date changes by a week or more. So when I make that call, I often open with the line – “Remember when I told you I might have to call you? If a delay is extensive, you can always offer free delivery as a compensation for having to wait a little longer. Most custom furniture arrives on time or even earlier, so it’s rare to have to reach out to a customer with a new expected date.

