Elementary, My Dear…

A lot of what we do here at Room & Board comes down to problem-solving. Clients old and new call every day with a range of questions, and our job is to figure out what we can do to help. Sometimes the answer is clear, but there are plenty of occasions when some cooperative detective work is in order. This was the case with a recent client of mine. He called needing to replace a switch on his 12-year-old Tolomeo lamp. He didn’t have a recent order to refer to, and the piece he needed wasn’t on the Parts list we use at the store level to order replacement parts.

So I brought in reinforcements.

I contacted our Service Department to find out if the part was something we could order from the vendor. The service department reached out to the vendor, verified that we could definitely order the necessary part, procured pricing and lead time information and then contacted me to make sure my client understood that the part would need to be installed by a certified technician. I reached out to the client twice to keep him posted (and let him know I didn’t forget about him! — some things take time). Then, once all the details were sorted out, my colleague in the Service Department contacted the client directly to finalize the order.

This turned out to be a pretty easy case to crack, but it wouldn’t have been possible were it not for the strong circuitry of communication that runs through Room & Board. It’s comforting to know that even when I don’t have the answer, I can always find someone who does.

