A Different Summer

I spent this summer away from Room & Board due to a foot surgery in late Spring. Roughly thirteen glorious weeks at home with my foot propped up on an ottoman. Thirteen weeks…sitting…at home. Needless to say, I’m very rested.

I have watched every episode ever produced of “Barefoot Contessa” and “Chopped.” Lot’s of movies (many on the all engrossing Lifetime Network, don’t judge) and a fair number of books were read. It was a great summer for my sunflowers but no so much for tomatoes and zucchini. Too much rain I think.

When I received the “ok” from my surgeon to come back to work, I was thrilled. I could not wait to get back to my store and see the people I work with. Being gone has made me realize how much a part of my life working at Room & Board has become. I didn’t realize how much I missed the day-to-day interactions and just general kibitzing with my partners.

So far my return has been gradual and for now I’m on daily phone duty, but beginning to re-establish a daily routine (that is outside of my house, the sofa, and the Food network) is a blessing that I’m really grateful for. Over the next few weeks I’ll be able to join my fellow associates out on the sales floor where the real action is. Selling sofas, planning floor plans, tossing toss pillows… so much better than “Death of a Cheerleader” on Lifetime (don’t judge).

 

