Good Days and Bad Days

I think work is like any other type of relationship. There are good days….and there are days when you contemplate poking your lover’s eyes out. Ok, maybe not that drastic, but sometimes you’d just rather be anywhere but with that significant other.

I recently had one of those days with work. I was pleasant enough and worked with customers and colleagues, but my heart wasn’t in it. I think I even prided myself that I could fake it; I’ve been in this business for a while. I also happened to be working with an associate who was newly hired. For all the exuberance and excitement that she showed toward her work, I’m sure I met it with a confusing nonchalance. She was filled with a sense of accomplishment when she successfully completed an order. She got very involved with customers and would pull pillows and frames off walls to help them see the vision. She was excited about being here. I was not.

As any good lovers spat goes, it can only last for so long. Someone has to budge. In this case it was me. My new colleague became my mirror to show me what my time at work could look like as opposed to what I was making of it.

Retail, like any other job, will have its good and bad days. And retail, like any relationship, requires that you fall in love with it over and over again to make it work. You take what you have and make the most of it. You work to see and appreciate all those things that make you tick. Sometimes work is actually work. And as with any relationship, sometimes it’s those little things that surprise you…like that the biggest learning lesson of the day comes from the newbie – the one with eyes wide open. I’m grateful for that.

