Travel Perks

I don’t normally see travel as part of a retail associate’s job description. Our job is a bit store centric. I love travel and the opportunity it affords me to experience different parts of the country and the world. I however, assume that I’m going to have to set up those experiences for myself; my employer isn’t going to foot that bill.

That’s why it’s been such a treat for me to travel to different markets through my job here. When Room & Board opens a new store, either in an existing market or a new one, we usually bring associates from other markets into the store for the first few months. These associates help out with staffing, acting as greeters on weekends or acting as more seasoned support for a relatively new store staff.

I recently had the opportunity to travel to our new Chelsea, NY location to work as a greeter for the weekend. My job was to act as an ambassador for Room & Board: greeting everyone who came in, answering questions and even passing out R&B tote bags and catalogs.

I had a great time explaining what Room & Board is all about, meeting new people, catching up with old colleagues, experiencing a new showroom (Chelsea is amazingly beautiful and literally the largest Room & Board in the universe!) and having the overall opportunity to meet and work with colleagues in other markets. In the evenings I got the chance to catch up with old friends, explore new neighborhoods and sample some of the mouth-watering food that the Big Apple has to offer.

Sometimes my secondary role affords me this opportunity as well. When we rolled out our Custom Window category several years ago, I was chosen to attend training in Minnesota as well as New York. Other DAs from my store have traveled to other markets to help with floor change and staffing needs based on their area of expertise. It’s a great way to help out other markets when they need it as well as build a wider community outside of your own store community. All in all, I’ve visited several markets in my three years here at the store and am looking forward to my next experience.

Now I just need to push for a Room & Board in London or Paris…

