Work/Life Balance, Days Off and a Broadway Show

What am I doing at work on a Wednesday? I am a three-day person who works Friday, Saturday and Sunday, no ifs, ands or buts. Yet here I am in the middle of the week sitting at a pod and looking at a Hoffman bed in Tamm charcoal.  What forces have conspired to alter my work schedule and require that I be here today when I should be at home watching The View and The Chew while lying askew on my sofa with my iPad and nothing to do? Work/life balance, that’s what!

Last weekend, I had a friend visiting from out of town. Since he is like most everyone else in the world and works a Monday through Friday job, he was visiting on a weekend when I am usually pulling out fabric swatches and explaining the difference between Innerspring mattresses and Encased Coil ones. (Partner disturbance, duh!) When I wanted to take a vacation day to spend some time with my friend, I was shocked and dismayed to see that of my 109 hours of vacation I had accrued, I had used 104 of them.(Vacations; I love ’em!) I did not even have enough time to take one day off! I looked at the schedule and saw that on Sunday we had ample coverage, so I asked if it might be possible for me to swap that day for a day off and come to the showroom on another day instead; maybe Wednesday, when we normally have fewer people on the floor. Because Room & Board has a healthy outlook towards work/life balance, our schedule person was happy to make the change for me, allowing me to have Sunday off with my friend to do normal Sunday things like brunch and a Broadway matinee. (Saw Hand to God: brilliant, funny, sad and disarming with some incredible performances.)

This brings me back to my original question: what I am doing at work on a Wednesday? I am making up for having Sunday off because I work for a company that was willing to be flexible with my schedule and allowed me to enjoy a Sunday off with a good friend. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I am going to go straighten out the bedding on this Hoffman bed.

