The Magic of Central

2016 New Assortment

I had hoped to write a post last week while I was at Central (our headquarters in Minneapolis, Minn.), but there was so much to do! In any case, here you can see a moment where our Retail Market Manager, myself and our Visual Associate had found an open table to spend some time with our showroom map and do some planning.

There is so much I could say about my visit. I feel really lucky to have been able to do my initial training at the Edina, Minn. Showroom and have been able to see our Central offices previously. Being able to come back almost three years later in this role was wonderful, and also reminded me of some of the goals I had set for myself when I was new to Room & Board. One of them was to be part of the team participating in New Assortment meetings–and I got to achieve that! Also, one of the folks I had trained with who was going to be working in the Edina Showroom had recently joined the Upholstery Team as a Product Associate, so it was fun to reconnect with her and reflect on how our professional journeys had brought us to our current roles.

Seeing the new introductions for our 2016 collection and hearing the stories from our Vendor Management teams about how products were developed was amazing. There is nothing like being able to connect with the people who are making this happen. Additionally, the Central Campus is really beautiful and everyone is so nice! My hope is that I can bring some tiny percentage of the magic from this visit back to my team here at home. It really helped to fill me up with energy and reminded me why I’m so happy to be a part of Room & Board.

2016 New Assortment Planning

I’ll probably try to write another post about my experiences at Central soon. There is just too much for one post! But for the moment, we’re back in our store in Seattle and you can see our Visual Associate is busy collecting her inspiration on the wall with the maps, and then starting to lay out pairings on the floor of rugs and material finishes. Lots of work to do still and we’re excited to dig in and get things accomplished.

