This Day in History: September 26

Sept26

Forgive me, for this is a little bit late, but it needs to be said: September 26th is a very important day! Of all 365 days in the year, this is one of the big ones because so many momentous events have occurred on this special day. Ladies and gentlemen, I give to you the five most important thing ever to have happened on the 26th day of the ninth month of the year:

 

  1. On this day in 1904, Earl Gray was named British governor-general of Canada. I know not what that means, but I do know that he has a very famous tea named after him and for that, we should all celebrate this day.

 

  1. On this day in 1962, the third best television show of all time made its debut on CBS. That show was called “The Beverly Hillbillies” and it was, and still is, a cultural masterpiece that brought possum stew and cement ponds to the forefront of society. Coincidentally, it is also Donna “Ellie Mae Clampett” Douglass’ birthday which makes this day even more special.

 

  1. Two years later, in 1964, the second most important television show ever made its debut on September 26th also on CBS. (CBS basically rules.) The show was “Gilligan’s Island.” Need I say more? No, I didn’t think so.

 

  1. Five years after that, the premier TV show of all time arrived to change the face of television forever. CBS lost its mojo and bowed down to ABC when it debuted “The Brady Bunch.” It’s hard to believe that so many wonderful shows all made their presence known on the same day, but it’s true. “The Brady Bunch” has yet to be topped and I severely doubt that anything will ever surpass the wonderfulness of it. Honestly, the show is that good. No TV show can top “The Brady Bunch” ever. (Well, maybe “Magnum P.I.”)

 

  1. What is the number one thing that happened on this day? What could possibly be more exciting than three amazing TV shows and Earl Grey tea? One thing and one thing only: on this day in 2011 is when I had my first day of employment at Room & Board. September 26th will always be a special day for me, partly because it was when my career at Room & Board began, but mostly because it’s the day “The Brady Bunch” began.
