There’s No Place Like Home

Dorothy

Where am I? Am I having one of those dreams where I know I am in a certain place but it’s not really that certain place? Things look familiar, but this is not my usual Room & Board. I feel like Dorothy who just landed in Oz. Perhaps I have unknowingly landed my house on a Wicked Witch and any minute a group of Munchkins are going to pop out of a Anywhere Armoire and start telling me to ease on down the road.

Normally, I work at the Chelsea store, but since we have two locations in New York City, we have begun an Exchange Program so that we can all work at both stores. Each day, twoAssociates swap places so that we can become familiar with the other store and also continue building relationships with the staff at the other store. This is in preparation for the future should our two teams merge as one if/when the SoHo store closes. Today is my day to work in SoHo and, even though the furniture and the faces are the same ones I have seen many times, it feels odd to be here. Even though this is work, it doesn’t feel like I am at work. It’s nice to see the collection in different forms. Oh, look, there’s the Bram chair when I’m used to only seeing it is as a sofa! And there’s the Georgia bench which I never see! Callans in Tatum, that chair, oh my! Lions and tigers and bears, oh my!

It is nice to be in SoHo, my old stomping ground. After all, I worked at this location for over two years. Not only does it give me the chance to learn about other pieces in the collection it also allows me to have lunch at that burrito cart down the street. Although the Chelsea store is just a few blocks away, it may as well be the Emerald City. It’s a world apart separated by two subway trains and a field of poppies. When I get back to my store on Saturday I will feel home again, but I will know that SoHo is my home too. Every Room & Board is partly my home and if I ever go looking for my heart’s desire again, I won’t look any further than my own backyard; because if it isn’t there, I never really lost it to begin with. It’s right over there next to the Reese sectional.

