A Privilege and a Pleasure

Room and Board Seattle

I have to begin by saying that my past three-plus years with Room & Board have been incredible. However, I recently made a difficult decision to accept an offer for a position with a new company and pursue a career path in project management.

It has been a privilege and a pleasure to be part of the Room & Board family in Seattle. (And when I say family, I mean it! That word best describes the close relationships our team has built with each other since our store opened its doors in the fall of 2012.) This has been the most positive professional experience of my life so far. I’ve gained valuable experience, helped so many wonderful customers, and worked with a truly amazing team of coworkers.

I’ll be honest: when I first applied, I hadn’t really been considering a retail position, but I was still drawn to the description of the company in the job posting. I’m so glad I filled out that online application. The interview and training process really let me know that I was going to be part of something special. A decent amount of work that may happen at the corporate level for other retailers is actually done directly in the showroom with the support of our partners at Central. This means that there is opportunity to explore different roles and tasks, and the chance to have an impact on the direction of the business. As the Retail Merchant Liaison for our store over the past couple of years, I’ve been able to have a direct hand in growing our market sales, supporting our Design Associates with the right products on the showroom floor, and ensuring a positive shopping experience for our customers.

While my time working for Room & Board may be coming to a close, I’m so appreciative to have been able to contribute to the success of this team, and to have had the opportunity to gain such incredible personal and professional confidence. If you are interested in a career at Room & Board I can tell you three things: this is a great company, they sell products you can believe in, and there are so many warm and wonderful people who work here. As of March 1st, I may no longer be an employee here, but I’ll always be a customer!

