A Special Event Celebrating How Salesforce Helps Us Help Our Customer

One of the tenets at the heart of Room & Board’s Guiding Principles, and one which impacts the job of each Design Associate on a daily basis, is the commitment to recognizing the unique experiences, perspectives and talents of our team members. For some, this translates into additional responsibilities as a Business Interiors Liaison, Design Center Liaison, Marketing and Branding Liaison or liaison to virtually any aspect of the business which serves to enhance our work environment, showroom presentation or customer experience. For me personally, I’ve helped to bridge the initial gap between my prior experience in event planning and my role as a Design Associate by assisting in the execution of in-store events.

Events at Room & Board result from cross-branding opportunities and while always fun and exciting, in the midst of celebrating book publishings, trends in menswear for the fall season and local restaurateurs, it’s rare that Room & Board has the opportunity to bask in its fair share of the spotlight. Several weeks ago however, I was lucky enough to be present for just that sort of occasion.

This past May, the Atlanta market hosted a reception for customers of the Salesforce Corporation. Salesforce, in their own words, is the “innovative company behind one of the world’s leading CRM platforms and as it turns out, Room & Board is one of their best customers! As such, our own Kimberly Ruthenbeck, Director of Web Experience was invited to speak at the reception to an audience of over 75 about the success we’ve experienced working with Salesforce over the past seven or so years.

It wasn’t until I caught sight of a small AV team erecting an 80’’ monitor in our showroom that I became fully aware of how important the presentation would be to the reception program. We’re talking headlining attraction and at that point; my anticipation for the event was significantly heightened. Shortly after beginning to welcome the attendees to our showroom, I heard introductions being made over a microphone and as quickly as I could (which was not quickly at all) I made my way through the crowd towards where the presentation had begun to take place. Long story short – I missed it! Well, most of it anyways! Between pausing to speak with guests, weaving my way around other guests rendered statue-like by their attentiveness and periodically darting about the showroom to pick up and dispose of precariously placed pates and sweating cocktail glasses, I could barely make out more than four or five consecutively strewn sentences.

Luckily for me, I was able to view an exceptionally well-produced video which highlights exactly what it was that had so thoroughly captured everyone’s attention that night. My teammates and I found this video to be truly inspiring and believe that it perfectly communicates Room & Board’s philosophy on customer service which is of course, what Room & Board is all about. Hopefully this video inspires you as well!

http://www.salesforce.com/customers/stories/room-and-board.jsp

